News By/Courtesy: Sreeja K. Sreedhar | 10 Aug 2019 13:09pm IST


  • A 12-member selection panel appointed by the Indian Govt.
  • National sports awards to be given away on August 29, on National Sports Day.
  • Selection panel to be headed by Retd, SC Judge Mukundakam Sharma.

Govt.of India has constituted a 12- member Selection Panel for National Sports Awards.This panel will select the National Sports Awards for athletes and coaches this year. This selection panel includes six-time world champion boxer M.C Mary Kom and former football captain Bhaichung Bhutia among others.

  The National Sports Awards will be given away on National Sports Day, on August 29, the birth anniversary of Hockey wizard, Major Dhyan Chand.

   Selection panel of 12 members, headed by Retd. SC Judge Justice Mukundakam Sharma.

Sports Secretary Radhey Shyam Jhulaniya, Target Olympic Podium Scheme (TOPS) CEO Commander Rajesh Rajagopalan, Sports Authority of India Director General Sandeep Pradhan, Mary Kom, Bhutia, former women's cricket team captain Anjum Chopra, celebrated former long-jumper Anju Bobby George and table tennis coach Kamlesh Mehta are some of the members of this panel.

Apart from sportspersons, 2 people from the media industry- Chief Editor of Times Group (Digital) Rajesh Kalra and renowned sports commentator Charu Sharma, are also present in the panel.

This 12-member panel was constituted to select winners for the following awards - the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award (for coaches), Dhyan Chand Award (lifetime achievement) and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Award.

 The National Sports awards are given by the Govt. of India for specific contribution in the field of games and sports. The awards given are- Dhyan Chand Sports Award, Dronacharya Award‎, Arjuna Award‎, Ekalavya Award,‎ Padma Bhushan, Padma Shri, Padma Vibhushan and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna.

Section Editor: Kaushal B. Shah | 10 Aug 2019 13:19pm IST

Tags : #sports day#sports awards#Mary Kom# Bhaichung Bhutia# Arjuna Award# Dronacharya Award#

Latest News

Copyright Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. Unless otherwise indicated, all materials on these pages are copyrighted by Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. No part of these pages, either text or image may be used for any purpose. By continuing past this page, you agree to our Terms of Service, Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy and Content Policies.