News By/Courtesy: Arya A. Kudchadker | 14 Nov 2020 21:17pm IST


  • The formation of UNESCO
  • The formation of UNESCO
  • The formation of UNESCO

The Formation of UNESCO

On November 16, 1945, UNESCO was established. The full name of UNESCO is United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization-UNESCO). It has a permanent headquarters in Paris, France.

It was the year 1942. The world entangled in the war was divided into two parts. On one side, Nazi Germany and its allied nations, on the other side, other countries in Europe. That is, the axis of the nation on one side and the allies on the other side. Education ministers of allied countries met in the United Kingdom, England. The meeting was named Conference of Allied Ministers of Education. The war still had a long time to end, but these countries had understood the tragedy of the war. After the war, they started thinking about the establishment of an organization that would add life to their destroyed education system and also play a role in establishing peace in the world. Taking this idea forward, during the meeting it was proposed to establish an organization which would work in the educational and cultural ground. If the idea liked everyone globally, this plan took the form of movement and soon its effective implementation was thought of. Many governments, including the United States, also showed interest in making this plan a reality.

From November 1 to 16 in 1945, on the proposal of Chem, a conference of the United Nations was called to make the plan a reality. The conference was held in London and representatives from 44 countries participated. It was decided to set up an organization that would be the brand ambassador of peace so that any other world war in the world could be prevented.

At the end of the conference, 37 countries established the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). The UNESCO Constitution was signed on November 16, 1945 but came into force on November 4, 1946. The first session of the UNESCO General Conference was held in Paris from 19 November to 10 December 1946. Representatives of 30 countries participated in it. These 30 countries also had the right to vote on UNESCO affairs.

More members joined UNESCO after World War II. Japan became a member in 1951 and the Federal Republic of Germany in 1953. Spain received membership in 1953. The Cold War and the end of the colonies and the breakup of the USSR also impacted UNESCO. The USSR also became part of UNESCO in 1954. In 1992, the Russian Federation became a member of the UNESCO in place of the USSR along with 12 former Soviet republics. In 1960, 19 States of Africa also gained membership.

Some countries continued to visit UNESCO in the middle, but later almost all countries joined it. South Africa remained out of it from 1957 to 1994, the United States from 1985 to 2003, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from 1986 to 1997, and Singapore from 1986 to 2007.


 This Article Does Not Intend To Hurt The Sentiments Of Any Individual Community, Sect, Or Religion Etcetera. This Article Is Based Purely On The Authors Personal Views And Opinions In The Exercise Of The Fundamental Right Guaranteed Under Article 19(1)(A) And Other Related Laws Being Force In India, For The Time Being. 


Section Editor: Pushpit Singh | 15 Nov 2020 18:25pm IST

Tags : #UNESCO

Latest News

Copyright Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. Unless otherwise indicated, all materials on these pages are copyrighted by Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. No part of these pages, either text or image may be used for any purpose. By continuing past this page, you agree to our Terms of Service, Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy and Content Policies.