News By/Courtesy: Aashita Khandelwal | 08 May 2019 22:42pm IST

Talking of Arctic Council, it is an inter-governmental body that resolves the problems and issues faced by the Arctic government and their citizens.  It was established in 1996 by the Ottawa declaration, headquartered Tromso, Norway. The council comprises of 8 countries Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States as they are having a great authority within the circle. The countries which belong to outside the circle are called observers.

Finland hosted the 11th Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting in Rovaniemi. The 11th Arctic Council meeting took into account following matters of concern:

  • increasing global warming around the globe
  • new climate policy of US
  • China who is an observing state and the concern was about the melting ice of polar silk road and has opened up new northern shipping routes
  • Russia’s Northern Fleet modernization and reopened Cold War military bases.

In this meeting, India has been re-elected as the observer. In this council, all the states will come together to discuss common issues such as sustainable development and environmental protection. India promised to give more contributions this time for the council “M Rajeevan, Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences tweeted.”

The motive of India for such contribution is that they wanted to know whether there is a correlation between the Indian monsoon and the Arctic region. Indian researchers have also been studying this since a very long time. 'Himadri' India's National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research, an institute under the Ministry of Earth Sciences which is situated in Svalbard, Norway.  It basically functions and works on the mass balance of glaciers, the effect of the warming on the marine system, the formation of clouds and precipitation and the effect on biodiversity.

Section Editor: Puja Jakhar | 08 May 2019 22:47pm IST

Tags : #ArcticCouncil #India #ObserverAC #Arctic #11thArcticCouncilMeeting

Environment Related Latest News

Copyright Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. Unless otherwise indicated, all materials on these pages are copyrighted by Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. No part of these pages, either text or image may be used for any purpose. By continuing past this page, you agree to our Terms of Service, Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy and Content Policies.