News By/Courtesy: Aashi Nema | 14 Jan 2019 16:05pm IST

The seat-sharing formula was proposed by Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)- which emerged as the largest party in the last Bihar Assembly elections with 81 MLAs led by Lalu Prasad Yadav. However Congress opposed and rejected the proposal. The Congress claimed that the party was confident of a win in at least 20 out of 40 seats in the Assembly.

According to some reports, the RJD had prescribed to preserve 18 seats for itself, 10 seats for Congress, four seats for the Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) and Left parties, two seats for Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and one seat each for LJP and Mukesh Sahni's Vikasheel Insaan Party.

BJP president Amit Shah had announced that the party would contest on 17 seats of Lok Sabha as a part of the NDA alliance in the state, while an equal number of seats will be for Janata Dal (United). Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan-led Lok Jantantrik Party (LJP) will contest on six seats.

Section Editor: Shreyashi Tiwari | 14 Jan 2019 16:16pm IST

Tags : #RJD #Sharing #Proposal #Congress #Bihar

Politics Related Latest News

Copyright Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. Unless otherwise indicated, all materials on these pages are copyrighted by Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. No part of these pages, either text or image may be used for any purpose. By continuing past this page, you agree to our Terms of Service, Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy and Content Policies.