News By/Courtesy: Ambuja Jain | 14 May 2019 22:34pm IST

In phase 6 of Lok Sabha Elections, a total number of 59 seats went to polls. A total number of 10.17 crore people were eligible to cast their votes from Haryana, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal. Phase 6 of Lok Sabha Elections witnessed a turnout of 60 percent, with West Bengal, once again posted the highest voter turnout at 80 percent, while Uttar Pradesh witnessed the lowest voter turnout at 51 percent.

The process of voting was marred by violence in many places, EVM malfunction, and boycotts across the country. A BJP candidate’s convoy was allegedly attacked by TMC workers. The West Bengal Chief Electoral officer has sought a report from the District Magistrate of Ghatal on the attack on Ghosh’s convoy. A BJP delegation led by the state vice-president Jay Prakash Majumdar met the Chief Electoral Officer of West Bengal to discuss the violations and discrepancies in this phase of elections.  In Madhya Pradesh, Alok Sharma who is a senior BJP leader and Mayor of Bhopal reached Gautam Nagar police station on Sunday morning after just one hour of polling and alleged that Bhopal North MLA and Cabinet Minister in the Kamal Nath government Aamir Aqueel threatened the BJP’s polling agent and brandished a weapon. According to the police, the incident took place at the DIG Bungalow polling centre where an unidentified man attacked a polling agent of BJP.

Alok Sharma said that “The BJP had not made any arrangement of a polling agent in ward 16 as the booth falls in Arif Aqueel’s stronghold. So, they had asked the election officials to allow them to send a polling agent from a nearby booth. When the agent went to sit near the booth to help voters, after which Amir Aqueel had sent his goons to attack the agent.”

Section Editor: Shreyashi Tiwari | 14 May 2019 22:39pm IST

Tags : #Lok_Sabha #Elections #Phase_6 #West_Bengal #Madhya_Pradesh

Politics Related Latest News

Copyright Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. Unless otherwise indicated, all materials on these pages are copyrighted by Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. No part of these pages, either text or image may be used for any purpose. By continuing past this page, you agree to our Terms of Service, Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy and Content Policies.