News By/Courtesy: Ayush Sharma | 09 Jun 2019 23:14pm IST

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jaganmohan Reddy has designated five deputy Chief Minister to his cabinet and allocated the post of Home Minister to a Dalit Woman legislator. He has designated the post of Home Minister to M Suchitra Mekathoti, which makes her the second woman Home Minister in the history of Andhra Pradesh Cabinet. Earlier Jagan’s father the late YS Rajasekhara Reddy had for the first time named a woman, P Sabita Indra Reddy as home minister of united Andhra Pradesh in 2009.

Mrs. Suchitra Mekathoti is a wife of Mumbai Income Tax Officer M Dayasagar. She defeated former minister D Manikya Varaprasad in Prathipadu assembly constituency in Guntur District. The cabinet composition drew appreciation in general. Jagan surprised all m=by making a 31-year old tribal legislator Pushpa Srivani Pamula the deputy chief minister under ST quota. The graduate from Andhra University is a second time MLA. Pilli Subash Chandra Bose, Alla Nani, Narayana Swamy, and Amjad Bhasha are the remaining deputy chief ministers.

Journalist-turned-politician Kurasala Kanna Babu has given Agricultural portfolio. Former IRS officer Adimulapu Suresh has been made the minister of education. Governor ESL Narasimhan administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at the ceremony which was commenced at 11:49 am. The chief minister allotted portfolios to the newly- inducted ministers later that day.  

Section Editor: Puja Jakhar | 09 Jun 2019 23:29pm IST

Tags : #AndhraPradesh #AP #APCM #CMReddy #APHM #AndhraHM #AndhraHomeMinister #MSuchitraMekathoti

Politics Related Latest News

Copyright Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. Unless otherwise indicated, all materials on these pages are copyrighted by Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. No part of these pages, either text or image may be used for any purpose. By continuing past this page, you agree to our Terms of Service, Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy and Content Policies.