News By/Courtesy: Harshit Sharma | 03 Jul 2019 22:27pm IST

Though the H.D. Kumaraswamy-led Janta Dal (Secular) – Congress coalition Government in Karnataka has successfully thwarted off alleged attempts by the BJP to convince alliance legislators to defect, the threat to the government has never been out of the question. Further, shrinking the majority of the Karnataka Government, two Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs), Congress legislators Anand Singh and Ramesh Jarkiholi have resigned on Monday. Mr Singh represents Vijaynagar in Ballari district, and Mr Jarkiholi was elected from Gokak in Belagavi district. The resignation of the two legislators has sparked reflected the likely dissolution of H.D. Kumaraswamy led Karnataka Government. Former Karnataka cabinet minister and Congress leader, Ramesh Jarkiholi had earlier confirmed his long suspected intention to quit the national party. While MLA Anand Singh, submitted his resignation to K.R. Ramesh Kumar, assembly speaker in the morning, legislator Ramesh Jarkiholi, faxed his papers in the evening. 

However, according to the sources their resignations are unlikely to be accepted because of not being submitted as per the rules of procedure, which requires them to be handwritten, duly signed by the MLA and to be personally delivered to the assembly speaker. BJP leader and former Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa made it clear that his party is not averse to forming a government. “If the government falls on its own, we are not sanyasis (saints) to keep quiet. We will explore the possibility of forming a new government and look to avert fresh elections.” 

Section Editor: Sandeep G | 03 Jul 2019 22:30pm IST

Tags : #Politics #Karnataka

Politics Related Latest News

Copyright Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. Unless otherwise indicated, all materials on these pages are copyrighted by Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. No part of these pages, either text or image may be used for any purpose. By continuing past this page, you agree to our Terms of Service, Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy and Content Policies.