News By/Courtesy: Prithviraj Khanna | 07 Aug 2019 11:22am IST

The Lok Sabha, on Tuesday, passed the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Bill, 2019 with 370 votes in favor of the Bill. The same Bill was passed on Monday in the Rajya Sabha with 126 votes in favor. The purpose of the Bill is to bifurcate the State of Jammu and Kashmir into two parts, both of which are Union Territories. The proposed Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir will be having a legislative government as well, like the model of Delhi or Puducherry. The Union Territory of Ladakh, however, will not have a legislature. The bill also seeks to remove Articles 370 and 35A from the Constitution, thus ending the special status given to J&K. 

After the passing of the Bill, the Speaker of the House, Sh. Om Birla adjourned the session of the Parliament sine die, calling it to be the most productive session since 1952. Before adjournment, the Minister of Home Affairs, Sh. Amit Shah withdrew the other Bill that had been passed by the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday, the Jammu and Kashmir Reservation (Second Amendment) Bill, 2019. 

Amidst the opposition, the Samajwadi Party boycotted the voting, with party leader Akhilesh Yadav citing the non-answering of questions as a reason to not participate in the voting. The Chief Whip of the Congress Party in Rajya Sabha, Sh. Bhubaneswar Kalita resigned from the post after declining the Party's order to issue a whip against the Bill, citing the whip to be against national interest. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has regarded this move as an important instance of all parliamentarians coming together to work on the progress and development of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh region. The Minister of Home Affairs, Sh. Amit Shah regarded this move will allow people from Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh to become partners in the development of a new India. 

Section Editor: Sandeep G | 07 Aug 2019 18:01pm IST

Tags : Jammu and Kashmir, Article 370, Lok Sabha

Politics Related Latest News

Copyright Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. Unless otherwise indicated, all materials on these pages are copyrighted by Kalyan Krishna MediaZ Private Limited. All rights reserved. No part of these pages, either text or image may be used for any purpose. By continuing past this page, you agree to our Terms of Service, Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy and Content Policies.